The CAHS is in the final stages of developing a new website.

We invite you to Click Here to visit now to view the new site and take advantage of the new features.

Once all relevant material from the old website has been transfered to the new website,
typing will automatically bring you to the new website.

Also visit the Newsflash page at to read about the latest developments.

Thanks for your patience, support, and interest!



Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame
To Induct 4 New Members

2018 induction ceremony poster

Four outstanding Canadians will be inducted as Members of Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame at the induction dinner gala and fundraiser to be held at the Sunwest Aviation hangar in Calgary on June 7, 2018. They will bring to 232 the total number of individual Members of the Hall.

John M. Bogie

A co-founder of the Canadian Owners and Pilots Association (COPA) in 1952, John Bogie served as COPA’s first president and chairman. He has made a name for himself in charter and exploration work for Laurentian Air Services and Spartan Air Services and has served as president for Laurentian. The story of that airline is told in For The Love of Flying, by CAHS member and former president, Danielle Metcalfe-Chenail. John also helped to create the Experimental Aircraft Association Canada and helped bring into being the Canadian Business Aircraft Association. He is an honorary director and life member of COPA.

Paul D. Manson, O.C., CMM, CD

As a pilot, General Paul Manson, retired, spent a 38-year career with the RCAF/CF and served as Chief of the Defence Staff from 1986 to 1989. He commanded at every level of the air force and was instrumental as the Program Manager for the New Fighter Aircraft Program in the selection of the CF-18 Hornet. His accomplishments in retirement include serving as volunteer full-time chairman of the “Passing the Torch” campaign, which raised over $16M in support of the Canadian War Museum (CWM). In December 2017 at the CWM, the General Paul Manson Meeting Room was named and dedicated in his honour.

John M. Maris, CD

Dr. John Maris had an exceptional twelve-year career as an active Canadian Armed Forces operational pilot, test pilot, project manager and Canadian Space Agency team leader. Now the head of his own company, Marinvent, for over 20 years he has flourished as an innovator in creation of the electronic cockpit, and the development of technology and processes for systems and flight test certification, as well as the creation of industrial and aerospace research alliances. John holds numerous worldwide patents and in 2005 was awarded Canada’s oldest aeronautical prize, the prestigious Trans-Canada (McKee) Trophy for his contributions to Canadian aerospace.

D. Gregory Powell, O.C.

Dr. Greg Powell has had an exemplary and notable 40-year career of leadership and innovation in the fields of emergency medicine, aviation and research. He is an internationally recognized leader in air medical transportation, critical patient care, emergency medical training and education. Dr. Powell is the founder of STARS (Shock Trauma Air Rescue Service) and its supporting foundation. He is Professor Emeritus for Emergency and Family Medicine at the University of Calgary. His commitment to safety, excellence in patient care and the aeromedical delivery of that care are renowned. Those measures have saved countless lives in Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

To order tickets for the June 7, 2018 induction dinner and ceremonies, contact Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame at or call 780-312-2084. To download a ticket order form with Marriott Hotel group rate and WestJet special offer, click here. To see or download the event’s poster, click here.